WightFibre Celebrates The Island’s Local Heroes

At a glittering award ceremony in Cowes local people were recognised for being exceptional and going the extra mile. The Isle of Wight Radio Local Hero Awards 2018 saw 11 winners across a variety of categories including Fundraiser of the year, Inspirational Young Person and Overall Local Hero. WightFibre were extremely proud to be sponsoring the event for the sixth year.

WightFibre CEO John Irvine said “We have some exceptional people on the Isle of Wight and this event is a great way to recognise their achievements.”

All the 2018 Local Hero Winners

The winners for each category are as follows:

  • Customer Service – The Freshwater Coffee House
  • Best Carer of the Year – Sarah Lacey
  • Best Neighbour – Jan Cave
  • Best Volunteer Award – Sue Clerkin
  • Emergency Service Award -Sandown Lifeboat
  • Fundraiser of the Year – Ben Allen and Support Team
  • Inspirational Leader – Sandi Gibbs
  • Make a Difference in the Community – Viki Ford Moore, Di Foxley & Team at Seaview Community Shop
  • Sporting Achiever – Barry Bishop & Martin Widman of Island Speedway
  • Tourism Ambassador – Lyn Blackledge
  • Inspirational Young Person – Emma Simpson
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award – Ron Bowler
  • Overall Local Hero – Barbara Creed

WightFibre CEO John Irvine with the Overall Local Hero Winner Barbara Creed