Isle of Wight Radio’s Local Heroes 2015

“Some absolutely heart wrenching stories and some very deserving winners. It’s great to be associated with the event.” – John Irvine, WightFibre CEO.

Many awards were presented at Cowes Yacht Haven on July the 2nd 2015, where extra special members of the Isle of Wight’s various communities were recognised and appreciated.


Asa Singleton Courageous Child Award, sponsored by Wightlink – Chelsea Turner

Fundraiser of the Year Award, sponsored by IFPL – Kya Dorn

Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by Earl Mountbatten Hospice – Ruth and Andy Davis

Sporting Achiever of the Year, sponsored by Premier Ford – Jemma Toms

Emergency Service Person of the Year Award, sponsored by Bartletts service station – Jeff Butt

Customer Service Award, sponsored by Watson Bull & Porter – Jill and Julian Page from the Eastmount Hotel, Shanklin

Best Neighbour of the Year Award, sponsored by Island Lettings – Brian Maskell

Inspirational Young Person Award, sponsored by HTP Training – Jake Harding

Make a Difference in the Community Award, sponsored by Isle of Wight Beacon Magazine – Carol Court

Tourism Ambassador Award, sponsored by Hovertravel – Angie Bryant

Overall Local Hero Award, sponsored by Wightfibre – Martin Poynter

We are very thankful to everyone involved for again making this a truly special and memorable event. Were you at the awards? Share your stories and photos with us over on Facebook and Twitter.

More pictures can be found from our friends at Isle of Wight Radio’s Facebook.